INEC Timetable Excludes PDP from Anambra Senatorial Re-run Election

INEC Timetable Excludes PDP from Anambra Senatorial Re-run Election

- in News

The Independent National Electoral, Commission (INEC) has excluded the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)  from participating in the re-run election for Anambra Central senatorial zone scheduled for March 5, ThisDay reports.
Also, the All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) were also excluded from participating in re-run elections in Kogi, Abia and Adamawa States respectively.
In a timetable released Tuesday for the conduct of elections as ordered by the Court of Appeal, INEC also disallowed parties from fielding new candidates for the re-run election thereby putting paid to the idea of conducting fresh primaries.
For the re-run election  in the Anambra Central senatorial district where confusion appears to be reigning over a recent Supreme Court verdict in the internal dispute involving rival PDP state executives, INEC said the party is excluded from participation.
The statement signed  by the commission’s Secretary, Mrs. Augusta C. Ogakwu, said: “Following consultations with major stakeholders in the electoral process and public interest in the subject, INEC at its meeting held on February 1, 2016, considered and approved dates for the conduct of elections as ordered by the Court of Appeal.

“Consequent upon the judgments of the court, the commission will conduct the elections in 69 of the said constituencies with the same political parties and their respective candidates who participated in the annulled elections.

“The commission further gives notice that the political parties and candidates entitled to participate in the elections in the other 11 constituencies.”
In the timetable issued by INEC, the re-run elections in 16 states of Gombe, Adamawa, Kaduna; Plateau; Niger; Benue; Nasarawa; Kogi; Taraba; Imo, Abia; Anambra; Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom; Cross River, and Rivers are scheduled to be conducted between February 13 and March 19,  2016.
INEC also listed parties and candidates who will be qualified to take part in the court-ordered re-run elections during the period.
In Abia State constituency election for  Aba North, the commission said  the same parties and candidates are to partake  excluding APGA and its candidate, while in Adamawa federal constituency comprising Demsa/Numan/Lamurde, the same parties except the SDP and it’s candidate will slug it out.
For the Anambra Central senate re-run election and Plateau State Lantang federal constituency, INEC said the same parties and candidates, excluding PDP, are to present candidates whereas for the Kaduna State assembly (Lere West), the commission said same parties and candidates except APC are to present new candidates.
In the Kogi  Central and Kogi East senatorial districts,  INEC approved that the same parties and candidates excluding APC and its candidate contact.
Similarly,  INEC excluded APC and its candidates from the re-run elections in Kogi federal constituency (Okene/Ogori/ Mangogo), Ofu Ankpa state assembly constituency and Niger State House of Assembly  election in Suleija constituency.
Although INEC  did not  expressly provide reasons for the exclusion of some of the political parties from the re-run election, it was implied that the commission might have based its action on the court judgments which disqualified the parties and their candidates.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *