INEC release timetable for Osun governorship election

INEC release timetable for Osun governorship election

- in News

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Osun has released the timetable for the state’s governorship election which is to hold on September 22.

Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, the newly appointed Osun Resident Electoral Commissioner, while presenting the timetable to newsmen on Thursday in Osogbo, said election activities would commence on June 23 with the release of “Notice of Election’’ by INEC.

He went further to state that political parties would commence a public campaign on June 24 while candidates for elections and their parties would have the opportunities to obtain forms at INEC headquarters from June 25.

The REC said that party primaries and resolution of disputes arising from the primaries would hold from June 24 to July 23.

READ  Buhari receives Boko Haram flag from Army

“The last day for withdrawal of candidate(s) and replacement of withdrawn candidate(s) by political parties would be August 8 while the last day for the submission of nomination forms would be August 22.

“The last day of campaigns will be September 20, while the election proper will hold on September 22 as provided in section 178 (2) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended),’’ he said.

As part of the commission’s roadmap for the election, Agbaje said Continuous Voter Registration had been extended at the 332 wards in the state from April 11 to April 16.

He said those who were newly captured would undergo Automatic Finger Identification System before their names would be ratified and added to the present list of registered voters in Osun.

READ  Recession: Private jets owners drops by 50% in 2016

The REC reassured that the PVC for registered voters in the state would be distributed before the governorship election on Sept. 22.

Facebook Comments
Herdsmen Strike Again, Kill 7 In Benue Church
Grand-daughter dies at Grandfather’s burial in Ekiti (photos)

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

Abuja village where twins are killed by hanging “because they are evil”, exposed

The killing of twins in Nigeria was abolished